In Yoruba lore, Iroko is a complicated symbol – a troll inhabiting the top branches of a tree called “the throne of god,” guarded against lest he come to earth, be seen and drive men mad. But Iroko, the French naïve label’s unique release by bassist Avishai Cohen and conguero-vocalist Abraham Rodriguez Jr., brims with tunefulness, grooves and warmth. It has deep roots in esoteric religion and popular song, and comes naturally from these 30-year cross-cultural collaborators who ward off trouble, united in musical spirit. The album is the 20th for prodigious Israel-based composer-performer Cohen, but just the third project out-front for Rodriguez, a self-described Nuyorican, Santeria adept and doowop-batarumba king, though he’s added his secret sauce for decades to the best Latin New York recordings. It’s as soulful as a streetcorner serenade in Spanish Harlem. Appeals to the Yoruba orishas flow among reappraising versions of James Brown’s “It’s a Man’s World,” the 1960 Academy Awardwinner “Theme to Exodus,” and Sinatra-associated “Fly Me To the Moon.” Everything’s grounded in the propulsive clavé rhythm that underlies virtually all Afro-Caribbean-derived music (jazz included), as Rodriguez’s hand-drumming locks in syncopation with Cohen’s irresistible bass patterns, and their voices blend like those of true friends.

1. The Healer 

2. Abie's Thing 

3. Tintorera 

4. It's a Man's World 

5. Descarga Para Andy 

6. Avisale a Mi Vecina - Iroko 

7. Thunder Drum 

8. Exodus 

9. A Bailar Mi Bomba 

10. Crossroads 

11. Venus 

12. A La Loma De Belen 

13. Fahina 

14. Fly Me To the Moon

Susiję produktai